Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 239

Thread: Pipo M6 Pro RileyROM 1.4

  1. #1
    ROM Developers rrileypm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Springdale, AR USA
    Posts
    9,120

    Pipo M6 Pro RileyROM 1.4

    This ROM is based on a Pipo firmware release dated 11/25/2013. I'm not sure what the changes were in the firmware because there was (as usual) no change log.

    This is now v1.4a. I posted an updated ROM to fix a problem users found with default apps not working.

    If you view post #140 in this thread, some users are successfully running this ROM on the Sumvision Cyclone Voyage 2 9.7" (version released in the UK) which should be a rebranded version of the Pipo M6 Pro. Flash at your own risk, but know that others do have it working.

    I've started using a new process in making ROM's which involves adding a couple of features you may find handy.

    First of all, in an effort to get a working CWM Recovery for these Pipo tablets, my development collegues here at Freaktab have devised a process to automatically install CWM after the first boot. The stock recovery will appear on first boot and format all of the necessary partitions, then the system will automatically install CWM Recovery after the first boot. So let the tablet set of a minute or two while this is being done before you reboot. From then on, when you reboot to recovery you will be in CWM.

    Next, there is a feature to automatically install any apps you have in folder called "autoinstall" on your external SD card. Just load the apk files you wish to install in that folder and watch them populate to the app drawer immediately after the tablet boots for the first time. CWM will install last, so just wait about a minute after you see your last app populate to the app drawer. Now there are some limitations to this feature. First, you must have no spaces in the file names of the apk files. Just use your explorer app to rename the apps to remove spaces. Also, I wouldn't just install EVERYTHING from autoinstall. This is for utilities you need immediately. It's still better to restore your apps/data from a Titanium Backup. Some apps don't like to be installed this way. For instance, if you have an app like Titanium that has a key app to unlock all the features, you can install Titanium, but NOT the key app this way. Those key apps prefer to be installed via Google Play Store or from a Titanium Backup. Just experiment with it and see how it works for you.

    Thanks to Finless, I've figured out how to keep the provision services from running...to try to install a bunch of bloatware that I've removed. Now it boots directly to the launcher.

    As usual this ROM is:

    Rooted
    Debloated
    Init.d Support
    Busybox Support
    English Default
    Working CWM Recovery
    2, 4, 6, 8, or 12gb user app space by changing parameter files
    Boot Animation by Tattman65
    Reboot app by Petrus
    Updated First Time User's Guide
    Rockchip driver installer app is now included in the kit

    Download

    Now v1.4.2 is available with:

    Updated Google Apps to most current versions
    Updated SuperSU and binary
    Deep Sleep fix applied

    Download v1.4.2



    If this ROM makes a difference for you, please consider a donation to support future RileyROM's here at Freaktab.com Donate!!!
    Last edited by rrileypm; 12-08-2013 at 04:13 PM.
    Randy
    Freaktab Developer, Moderator and "Flashaholic".
    Read my BIO Here
    Thanks, for your continued support. Funds are low right now for new projects, so your help is greatly appreciated.
    Donate here

  2. #2
    Good work!

    I'll download as soon as I get home.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    15
    Hi Randy,

    I'm on stock fw right now but already have installed CWM thru arctool. How do I change/upgrade to this fw?

    Thanks and Regards, appreciate your efforts on this.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    29
    Thank you very much Randy! The rom is working great. There seems to be a HUGE improvement in the video rendering!

    I had a video news app where the image was stretched which has now been fixed. And most importantly no more sync and framerate issues for 1080p.

  5. #5
    ROM Developers rrileypm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Springdale, AR USA
    Posts
    9,120
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by superbit64 View Post
    Hi Randy,

    I'm on stock fw right now but already have installed CWM thru arctool. How do I change/upgrade to this fw?

    Thanks and Regards, appreciate your efforts on this.
    Just download the ROM kit and read the pdf file...First Time User's Guide.
    Randy
    Freaktab Developer, Moderator and "Flashaholic".
    Read my BIO Here
    Thanks, for your continued support. Funds are low right now for new projects, so your help is greatly appreciated.
    Donate here

  6. #6
    Most obvious difference for me so far is the Android soft buttons at the bottom of the screen. There is now a screen capture button, and a button to hide the buttons therefore giving true full-screen!

    Antutu result is slightly down. Was ~19500, now ~19000. (Using kernel_cpu1704h_gpu600_ddr720) But in spite of that, the tablet does seem to be more responsive. Maybe I'm just imagining it...!

    Antutu stability test (with the above kernel)... well I'm never too sure how to interpret this as it doesn't give a final figure! The green line on mine fluctuates between 87 and 90.
    Last edited by nodabble; 12-03-2013 at 10:46 AM.

  7. #7
    Oh... and I like the new - more subtle - boot animation!!!

  8. #8
    Weird. Just run Antutu again and I get 19446! That's more like it! (I flashed the stock kernel and it came back with 17991 in Antutu.)

    Antutu aside, I'm liking what I see so far. My M6 Pro is stable (for now) and very responsive. Only time will tell if a few previous niggles have been resolved, namely inaccurate battery charging indicator and inability to wake up from standy by.

    I'll report back as and when!

  9. #9
    Senior Member giouncino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    italy
    Posts
    1,315
    the most interesting thing is the quick boot option:
    if you enable it the tablet boots up in 30 seconds

  10. #10
    Yeah - I saw that too - and enabled it. Don't know what I'm missing out on by doing a quick reboot but I like the faster time!

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    15
    Is there a chance of having a floating windows on this? wishful thinking... :-)

  12. #12
    ROM Developers rrileypm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Springdale, AR USA
    Posts
    9,120
    Thread Starter
    Nope, not this time.
    Randy
    Freaktab Developer, Moderator and "Flashaholic".
    Read my BIO Here
    Thanks, for your continued support. Funds are low right now for new projects, so your help is greatly appreciated.
    Donate here

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    hamburg germany
    Posts
    53

    Deep sleep

    Great work! Thank you! I Will flash soon...

    Does deep sleep work?

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    15
    I need help, after Erasing IDB I changed the parameter file but then the guide says to relaunch the flash tool after changing it so now it says "No Found RKAndroid rock usb". What do I do next?

  15. #15
    ROM Developers rrileypm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Springdale, AR USA
    Posts
    9,120
    Thread Starter
    Press and hold volume+ and then the power button. It should go back into flash mode.
    Randy
    Freaktab Developer, Moderator and "Flashaholic".
    Read my BIO Here
    Thanks, for your continued support. Funds are low right now for new projects, so your help is greatly appreciated.
    Donate here

  16. #16
    Senior Member giouncino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    italy
    Posts
    1,315
    Quote Originally Posted by heisenberg View Post
    Great work! Thank you! I Will flash soon...

    Does deep sleep work?
    They failed also this time...
    no deep sleep mode.
    bloody chinese!

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    15
    Hi Randy,

    Thanks, I managed to do just that after seeing the Q&A, now I'm flashing with default values. Should I opt to make my system have 4GB space, what is the exact steps? Do I just add "4" to parameter value or do I have to point it to parameter4 file?

    Regards

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by giouncino View Post
    They failed also this time...
    no deep sleep mode.
    bloody chinese!
    My stock ROM used to go to deep sleep out of the box and even after I have applied a minor OTA patch...maybe it's just on the 3G version?

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by giouncino View Post
    the most interesting thing is the quick boot option:
    if you enable it the tablet boots up in 30 seconds
    I think this is effective too! The UI is not just smooth...it's blazingly fast!

  20. #20
    Senior Member giouncino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    italy
    Posts
    1,315
    Quote Originally Posted by superbit64 View Post
    My stock ROM used to go to deep sleep out of the box and even after I have applied a minor OTA patch...maybe it's just on the 3G version?
    Only 3G models have this problem...

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •