Black Friday - TV BOX Flash Deals In GeekBuying, Daily Updated, Qty Limited.


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 44

Thread: Polaroid A8 Tablet

  1. #1
    Administrator guessyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    124

    Polaroid A8 Tablet

    I got a Polaroid A8 tablet the other day for free. I can't find hardly
    anything about it from the internet. I only found it at Toys-r-us.

    Toys-r-Us
    http://www.toysrus.com/product/index...uctId=29492676

    The tablet tells the following in "About Tablet" section.

    Model Number: S8
    SOC Chip: Super Dualcore A20
    Android Version: 4.2.2
    Firmware Version: v1.3
    Kernel Version: 1.0.0
    Build Number: 01.01.003.024.01

    During my research I found Southern Telecom distributes these tablets.

    They have a firmware update which will allow Google Play:
    http://southerntelecom.com/polaroids..._guide_A8.html

    My Question:
    Are there any custom roms for this device? I would love to be able to put
    4ext or CWM recovery on it. The device is a bit boggy in my opinion so some
    performance tweaks from a custom rom would be awesome.

    Thanks in advance..

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1

    More info, and a question

    Bought one yesterday at Walgreens, where they could be had for $90. I think we got the last one they had at that particular store. More info:

    1 GB of RAM
    4 GB of internal storage
    micro SD slot that will handle an SDHC card (hence up to 32 GB)

    Now, here's my question: apparently they made the A8 before they got Google's blessing to ship it enabled for Google Play, but now you can download and install a file or files that will give it Google Play access... BUT the only thing they provide to do that is a .msi file--Windows only. I am a Linux user; I tried WINE, but the install, of something called "PhoenixSuit' [sic], failed. Nowhere in the ads or on the box was there mention that I could only take full advantage of the tablet if I ran Windows--had there been, back on the shelf the box would have gone so fast shelves would have dumped their contents in the wake.

    I called the "Southern Telecom" number and got a polite but less-than-helpful woman who sounded like she was from India; from her I learned the following:
    • they're supposedly working on some way for Linux and Mac users to get their A8s to use Google Play
    • no, they don't have any idea when they'll have it done
    • when they do, they'll post on the web site (after repeated requests, she said she'd email me notification)

    So: does anyone know of some way Linux users can do what "PhoenixSuit" makes possible for Windows users?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by jejones3141 View Post
    So: does anyone know of some way Linux users can do what "PhoenixSuit" makes possible for Windows users?
    You can unpack the .msi file using msitools (with the msiextract tool) to get the firmware image. How to get it onto your tablet I don't know but it appears to be an allwinner firmware image so you can look for linux firmware tools for those, I already found a linux tool written for the older Allwinner A10 SoC at https://github.com/Ithamar/awutils .

  4. #4
    Administrator guessyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    124
    Thread Starter

    sideload option

    The new update with google apps stops you from using adb to control device. The devices as it comes will allow adb out of box.. If all you want is google apps you may be able to go into recovery and use adb sideload in order to install the gapps.. I havent tried it yet but it may be worth a shot..

    Quote Originally Posted by jejones3141 View Post
    Bought one yesterday at Walgreens, where they could be had for $90. I think we got the last one they had at that particular store. More info:

    1 GB of RAM
    4 GB of internal storage
    micro SD slot that will handle an SDHC card (hence up to 32 GB)

    Now, here's my question: apparently they made the A8 before they got Google's blessing to ship it enabled for Google Play, but now you can download and install a file or files that will give it Google Play access... BUT the only thing they provide to do that is a .msi file--Windows only. I am a Linux user; I tried WINE, but the install, of something called "PhoenixSuit' [sic], failed. Nowhere in the ads or on the box was there mention that I could only take full advantage of the tablet if I ran Windows--had there been, back on the shelf the box would have gone so fast shelves would have dumped their contents in the wake.

    I called the "Southern Telecom" number and got a polite but less-than-helpful woman who sounded like she was from India; from her I learned the following:
    • they're supposedly working on some way for Linux and Mac users to get their A8s to use Google Play
    • no, they don't have any idea when they'll have it done
    • when they do, they'll post on the web site (after repeated requests, she said she'd email me notification)

    So: does anyone know of some way Linux users can do what "PhoenixSuit" makes possible for Windows users?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Pensacola, FL
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by guessyet View Post
    The new update with google apps stops you from using adb to control device. The devices as it comes will allow adb out of box.. If all you want is google apps you may be able to go into recovery and use adb sideload in order to install the gapps.. I havent tried it yet but it may be worth a shot..
    Yep, if you want to keep root access, STAY AWAY from that firmware update. Not only does it break ADB ability while in Android, it also breaks the ADB sideload ability in the stock Recovery. The firmware update doesn't really do much else besides fix a couple bugs and install basic GAPPS. It's still the same version of Android. Definitely not worth the hassle IMHO.

  6. #6
    ROM Developers elektrik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    1,573
    I'm willing to restore root on the latest firmware if I having willing people to test.

  7. #7
    Member jsta6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    60
    I may be willing to try it. I sure did like the ones you made for my older Polaroid tabs...and I do need root access...

    Sent from my A/S8 using Tapatalk
    Polaroid S8
    Blackberry Torch
    Kindle Fire HD Gen 2 - Wifes
    Nokia 520 Windows 8 - Wifes
    (3) Nextbook 7s - Slooooooow - (Finless Bob ROM) - used for kids e-readers
    (2) Samsung Exhibits - kids
    Samsung Blaze, Kindle Fire, (2) PMID701c (Elektrik ROM) - all RIP
    ...some laptops, some PC's and some routers / switches

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Pensacola, FL
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by elektrik View Post
    I'm willing to restore root on the latest firmware if I having willing people to test.
    Honestly I'm more interested in seeing what we could do with the ones that haven't updated. Like I said, the one I updated I'm giving to my little brother anyway, I doubt he even knows/cares what root is. But being that it is for him and I don't want to buy another one, I'd rather not take any chances with it.

    However, on my non-updated tablet, I'm willing to test whatever. I just think it would be a wiser idea to stick with the original firmware that's 100x more developer friendly, rather than taking a chance with the updated firmware.

  9. #9
    Administrator guessyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    124
    Thread Starter

    AS8

    Impactor is the program I have been using to root my A/S8.

    I have been able to extract the partition images from the updated-google image. I modified the props to enable adb. I also was able to swap the internal sd with extsd to give me 32G of sd to use for installs ..

    I am currently working on the recovery.

    elektrik.. maybe we can work together..

  10. #10
    Administrator guessyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    124
    Thread Starter

    revert to original (non-google) state

    before i updated my tablet to the google-update i did a factory wipe/reset of the device and dumped the partitions. after reading a few posts yesterday of folks updating and being stuck - i spent some time today making an image that can be loaded on the device to revert the update.. this image needs to be loaded through phoenixsuite.. it will revert the a/s8 back to factory version of os..

    this works on my device however, i make no promises it will work on any other..

    http://www.mediafire.com/download/b0...iginal-AS8.zip
    Last edited by guessyet; 12-15-2013 at 10:54 AM.

  11. #11
    ROM Developers elektrik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    1,573
    Quote Originally Posted by BlingDiggity View Post
    Honestly I'm more interested in seeing what we could do with the ones that haven't updated. Like I said, the one I updated I'm giving to my little brother anyway, I doubt he even knows/cares what root is. But being that it is for him and I don't want to buy another one, I'd rather not take any chances with it.

    However, on my non-updated tablet, I'm willing to test whatever. I just think it would be a wiser idea to stick with the original firmware that's 100x more developer friendly, rather than taking a chance with the updated firmware.
    sorry, I only modify the images, so if there is no original image, I woulfn't be interested in even lookong at it, especially since I don't have the device

  12. #12
    ROM Developers elektrik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    1,573
    Quote Originally Posted by guessyet View Post
    before i updated my tablet to the google-update i did a factory wipe/reset of the device and dumped the partitions. after reading a few posts yesterday of folks updating and being stuck - i spent some time today making an image that can be loaded on the device to revert the update.. this image needs to be loaded through phoenixsuite.. it will revert the a/s8 back to factory version of os..

    this works on my device however, i make no promises it will work on any other..

    http://www.mediafire.com/download/b0...iginal-AS8.zip
    haha, and right as I say that, I see this post. i'm willing to help, as long as someone with the device is willing to test

  13. #13
    Administrator guessyet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    124
    Thread Starter
    this is the google-update with adb restored. you install this with phoenixsuite and once the device is booted go into settings and do the following..

    go to 'about tablet'
    start pressing the 'build number' line over and over.. it will eventually count down and enable dev options..
    once dev options are shown (dev option will be just above 'about tablet') press dev options.

    disable adb if it is enabled and re-enable it. you will get a confirmation message.. press ok..

    your computer should see the device and you will be able to run the impactor program to drop su into the xbin directory.. once impactor has finished install your supersu or superuser app.. and you are done..

    http://www.mediafire.com/download/za...S-20130909.zip

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Bear, DE
    Posts
    55

    Stock recovery for S8?

    Quote Originally Posted by guessyet View Post
    The new update with google apps stops you from using adb to control device. The devices as it comes will allow adb out of box.. If all you want is google apps you may be able to go into recovery and use adb sideload in order to install the gapps.. I havent tried it yet but it may be worth a shot..
    How do go into stock recovery on S8? I am seeing Motochopper as potential option.
    Is there a way to get into recovery on S8 without connecting it to PC? and may be flash from an sd card ?

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Liberty
    Posts
    6

    Cyanogenmod

    Would that Cyanogenmod install work on this Tablet ?? Polaroid A8

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    HOME
    Posts
    1
    Merry Christmas all, i have this tablet and will test any roms created, i'm currently upgrading this with the Google update with root provided here.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2

    how to swap the memories

    Quote Originally Posted by guessyet View Post
    Impactor is the program I have been using to root my A/S8.

    I have been able to extract the partition images from the updated-google image. I modified the props to enable adb. I also was able to swap the internal sd with extsd to give me 32G of sd to use for installs ..

    I am currently working on the recovery.

    elektrik.. maybe we can work together..
    i just downloaded the program and im wondering if you can give me a little guide on how to swap the internal sd with extsd as ive been trying to install nova 3 and i keep getting this error saying that i need an additional 822 mb of memory on my sd to install it on that note i noticed that the box says it has 4 gigs of memory* (* depending on how many apps you have installed) well for internal sd it only shows available 827.85 mb what am i supposed to do with that? thanks in advance

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2

    tried with ur modified still my pc wont recognize it

    Quote Originally Posted by guessyet View Post
    this is the google-update with adb restored. you install this with phoenixsuite and once the device is booted go into settings and do the following..

    go to 'about tablet'
    start pressing the 'build number' line over and over.. it will eventually count down and enable dev options..
    once dev options are shown (dev option will be just above 'about tablet') press dev options.

    disable adb if it is enabled and re-enable it. you will get a confirmation message.. press ok..

    your computer should see the device and you will be able to run the impactor program to drop su into the xbin directory.. once impactor has finished install your supersu or superuser app.. and you are done..

    http://www.mediafire.com/download/za...S-20130909.zip

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Pensacola, FL
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Youngarson View Post
    Would that Cyanogenmod install work on this Tablet ?? Polaroid A8
    No. Not until we get a working kernel that would mesh with it. Right now we're just barely beyond basic vanilla-root status.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Bear, DE
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by andresinibus View Post
    feel your pain. second that, or rather you second me.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •