MINIX NEO X8-H PLUS Global Exclusive Release In GeekBuying Free MINIX M1 Air Mouse. One Lucky Draw Will Get 100% Cash Back For Order Placed In First Three Days.


Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Touchscreen for G4 / X5

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    3

    Touchscreen for G4 / X5

    Hey fellows,

    I have a 37" 6-points multitouch overlay kit which can fit on a 37" TV set. The overlay kit does not require any driver under Windows (XP support single point only). I tried it with both G4 and X5 on 4.0.1 and it is totally OK except there is about 1 sec delay which makes it less suitable for interactive game. Problem arise when I upgraded to 4.1.1 or above, I tried many different ROMs but the horizontal coordinates is halved for 720P kernel. Imagine when I touch the rightmost of the touch screen the point appear is just in the middle. If the Android loaded with 1080P kernel, the vertical coordinate is halved and the horizontal coordinate is 1/3. It seems to me somewhere in 4.1.1 firmware, there is a setting related to touchscreen. I have a theory: maybe the default setting is for older touch screen with 800x480 screen resolution, so when I use 720P (720x1280) and 1080P (1080x1920), the vertical and horizontal coordinates are scaled accordingly (but this does not explained why 4.0.1 is OK).

    Anyway, anyone knows where should I look at? What are the different files/parameters from 4.0.1 to 4.1.1? Anyone can help to fix this issue is mostly welcome!

    Thanks in advance!

    RX78

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    sindh
    Posts
    5

    touch screen

    You mean touch screen overlay kits work direcly with the neo x5 without any drivers? Please explain me in a bit more detail how did you get the overlay kit to work with my neo x5. This would be of great help to me.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    3
    Thread Starter

    touch screen

    Hi Smartab,

    Yes, it is plug-n-play like a normal mouse, it works right after any new firmware flash....except the horizontal coordinate seems divided by halve in 720P kernel in 4.1.1 or above but it does work very well in 4.0.4..... I do want to upgrade because of Web camera unstable problem in 4.0.4.

    What else details you want?

    BTW, the touch screen itself supports TUIO.... not sure if it is related to plug-n-play?

    Regards,

    RX78

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    sindh
    Posts
    5
    Thanks for your reply rx78. Do you think that this coordinates being halved is a problem with minix or android 4.1.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    3
    Thread Starter

    Touch screen

    Hi Smartab,

    I heard from my China supplier that his Android PC in 4.1.1 is working fine but I haven't seen it.... I tend to think it is 4.1.1 problem, there are reports that you can load modified firmware from different vendors means that the basic kernel could be originated Rockchip. If you are one of those TV stick programmer, you tend to add Apps and device drivers to "flavour" your stick rather than take out touchscreen support?

    I think 4.0.4 is from a more generic kernel core which supports touchscreen, and the screen resolution is 800x480. In 4.0.4, this touchscreen config parameter updates with screen resolution, whereas in 4.1.1 which is an upgrade from 4.0.4, this touchscreen config parameter still exist and cannot leave blank, so the "default" 800x480 is being used. Since this is for TV box, this parameter ceases to update with screen resolution. So if you use a tablet Android PC with touchscreen, the touchscreen parameter is likely to update with screen resolution.

    I was hoping if someone here in this forum can tell me where is this touchscreen parameter (suppose there is one).

    Regards,

    RX78

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    223
    Quote Originally Posted by RX78 View Post
    Hi Smartab,

    I heard from my China supplier that his Android PC in 4.1.1 is working fine but I haven't seen it.... I tend to think it is 4.1.1 problem, there are reports that you can load modified firmware from different vendors means that the basic kernel could be originated Rockchip. If you are one of those TV stick programmer, you tend to add Apps and device drivers to "flavour" your stick rather than take out touchscreen support?

    I think 4.0.4 is from a more generic kernel core which supports touchscreen, and the screen resolution is 800x480. In 4.0.4, this touchscreen config parameter updates with screen resolution, whereas in 4.1.1 which is an upgrade from 4.0.4, this touchscreen config parameter still exist and cannot leave blank, so the "default" 800x480 is being used. Since this is for TV box, this parameter ceases to update with screen resolution. So if you use a tablet Android PC with touchscreen, the touchscreen parameter is likely to update with screen resolution.

    I was hoping if someone here in this forum can tell me where is this touchscreen parameter (suppose there is one).

    Regards,

    RX78
    sorry for the late reply, you may check out here:
    http://minixforums.com/threads/for-t...ed-touch.1558/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •