Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 82

Thread: Dumping ROM using ADB guide

  1. #41
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    13,459
    Thats good though! backup.img is actually the full ROM! Well thats IF the manufactirer actually flashed backup.img. Many do but I have seen cases where it was not flashed.

    So backup.img can be treated as a update.img and now can be taken apart.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"

    Video Link -> Safety Video #1
    Video Link -> CAUTION using powerful tools!

  2. #42
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Flagstaff,Arizona
    Posts
    142

    Red face Strange, ADB says I have two devices connected

    Heres my Tab ..
    Proscan 10.1
    Boxchip A10,
    Im not sure if this is because im on Windows 8 or not, but I followed your directions for the usb drivers. Heres what im getting in the command prompt.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
    (c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>cd\program files (x86)/android/android-sdk/platform-tools
    C:\Program Files (x86)\android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb devices
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *
    List of devices attached
    emulator-5554 device
    20080411413fc082 device

    C:\Program Files (x86)\android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb push rkdump /data/
    error: more than one device and emulator
    C:\Program Files (x86)\android\android-sdk\platform-tools>

    only other things I have attached to the usb are my wireless network adapter, wireless keyboard and mouse. Any Idea of what im doing Wrong? You Rock Finless !!!

    Okay figured it out, It seems I had installed a program called Bluestacks that was running on the 5554 port..
    Last edited by bryman777; 11-15-2012 at 04:17 PM.

  3. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Flagstaff,Arizona
    Posts
    142

    I was Able to abd dump the Proscan 1044

    Thank you so much for the windows driver Info, It really Helped out a lot, I couldn't have done it with out it. I also used yarviks adb dump Info, worked really easy..

  4. #44
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    2
    I got error too
    Code:
    root@android:/ # cat /proc/mtdcat /proc/mtd
    dev:    size   erasesize  name
    mtd0: 00400000 00004000 "misc"
    mtd1: 00800000 00004000 "kernel"
    mtd2: 01000000 00004000 "boot"
    mtd3: 01000000 00004000 "recovery"
    mtd4: 20800000 00004000 "backup"
    mtd5: 08000000 00004000 "cache"
    mtd6: 40000000 00004000 "userdata"
    mtd7: 00400000 00004000 "kpanic"
    mtd8: 1ec00000 00004000 "system"
    mtd9: 14fc00000 00004000 "user"
    oot@android:/ # cat /pro/cpuinfo
    at /pro/cpuinfo
    system/bin/sh: cat: /pro/cpuinfo: No such file or directory
    |root@android:/ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
    at /proc/cpuinfo
    rocessor       : ARMv7 Processor rev 0 (v7l)
    rocessor       : 0
    ogoMIPS        : 503.83
    
    
    eatures        : swp half thumb fastmult vfp edsp neon vfpv3
    PU implementer : 0x41
    PU architecture: 7
    PU variant     : 0x3
    PU part        : 0xc09
    PU revision    : 0
    
    
    ardware        : RK30board
    evision        : 0000
    erial          : 0000000000000000
    root@android:/ # /data/rkdump /dev/block/mtdblock1 /mnt/sdcard/kernel.img
    /data/rkdump /dev/block/mtdblock1 /mnt/sdcard/kernel.img
    kernel.img found (6873132 bytes)
    dumping...
    crc found (4 bytes, 0xf60cb92c)
    done
    root@android:/ # /data/rkdump /dev/block/mtdblock2 /mnt/sdcard/boot.img
    /data/rkdump /dev/block/mtdblock2 /mnt/sdcard/boot.img
    kernel.img found (1029616 bytes)
    dumping...
    crc found (4 bytes, 0x0877278a)
    done
    root@android:/ # /data/rkdump /dev/block/mtdblock3 /mnt/sdcard/recovery.img
    /data/rkdump /dev/block/mtdblock3 /mnt/sdcard/recovery.img
    unknown image (41 4e 44 52)
    1|root@android:/ #
    ??

  5. #45
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    france
    Posts
    15
    Hello. I have an Yzipro (rk3066 with 4.0.4), very similar to Yarvik TAB9-200.

    There is no stock firmware for this tab, so, i want to recreate it with a dump.

    I've the same issue with rkdump: unknown image.

    So, i'm dumping with dd if=xxx of=xxx bs=4096 and it's seem working.

    I have now boot.img, misc.img, kernel.img, system.img, recovery.img (backup.img is empty)

    But i haven't "parameter" file: how can i recover it ?

    thanks

  6. #46
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    13,459
    What you want to dump is backup.img This is a full ROM image like update.img and will have the parameter file in it. If backup.img is empty then the maker did not flash it
    Thus no parameter file.

    My syggestion then would be to use one from another RK3066 ROM of the same SDK level.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"

    Video Link -> Safety Video #1
    Video Link -> CAUTION using powerful tools!

  7. #47
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    france
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Finless View Post
    What you want to dump is backup.img This is a full ROM image like update.img and will have the parameter file in it. If backup.img is empty then the maker did not flash it
    Thus no parameter file.

    My syggestion then would be to use one from another RK3066 ROM of the same SDK level.

    Bob
    Thanks finless.

    I've made an update.img with this dump and a yarvik tab9-200 parameter file.

    It's seem good:
    - i've unpack and all is present
    - unpack of boot.img : initramfs is complete

    I can't test it, you know why

    Is there a beta tester in this place ?

    EDIT: Yzipro successfully flashed with my build !!! data partition extended to 1Go.
    Last edited by murigny64; 11-22-2012 at 05:13 AM.

  8. #48
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    2
    I dumped my Nextbook 9P last night, so I hope this helps.

    FIRMWARE_VER:1.0.1
    MACHINE_MODEL:Next9P
    MACHINE_ID:007
    MANUFACTURER:RK29SDK
    MAGIC: 0x5041524B
    ATAG: 0x60000800
    MACHINE: 2929
    CHECK_MASK: 0x80
    KERNEL_IMG: 0x60408000
    COMBINATION_KEY: 0,6,A,7,0
    CMDLINE: console=ttyS1,115200n8n androidboot.console=ttyS1 init=/init initrd=0x62000000,0x800000 mtdparts=rk29xxnand:0x00002000@0x00002000(misc),0x 00004000@0x00004000(kernel),0x00008000@0x00008000( boot),0x00008000@0x00010000(recovery),0x000F0000@0 x00018000(backup),0x0003a000@0x00108000(cache),0x0 0100000@0x00142000(userdata),0x00002000@0x00242000 (kpanic),0x000E6000@0x00244000(system),-@0x0032A000(user)

  9. #49
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    ATL
    Posts
    12
    Hey Gang,

    I'm a relative newbie here (I rooted my old android phone, and that's it). I'm attempting to make a backup image of my MK808, before I install Finless' 1.5a ROM. I was given a link to this page, and told this is what I need to do.

    I followed the instructions, but didn't have to manually install the drivers, because my Windows XP (SP3) found my MK808 and the installed SD card (RockUSBDriver was used). They are both in my "MY COMPUTER" as separate removable disks. I see the directory of my MK808 flash in one removable disk, and some file I copied to my SD card (because I couldn't tell which removable disk was which) in the other. There is nothing out of the ordinary in my Device Manager.

    I copied the RKDump file into the platform-tools directory, but when I type adb devices - there is none listed.

    Any ideas what I could be doing (or not doing) wrong??

    Thanks in advance...

  10. #50
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    13,459
    RKdump will not work with RK3066 devices which the MK808 is. So forget that route. Only way to dump it is to use linux and RKflash.

    But why do you need to dump it? A stock ROM is available.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"

    Video Link -> Safety Video #1
    Video Link -> CAUTION using powerful tools!

  11. #51
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    ATL
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Finless View Post
    RKdump will not work with RK3066 devices which the MK808 is. So forget that route. Only way to dump it is to use linux and RKflash.

    But why do you need to dump it? A stock ROM is available.

    Bob
    Hi Bob,

    I just wanted a "factory restore" option, in the event that something goes wrong when installing your finless 1.5a ROM. A restore point, so to say. If I understand you correctly, there's one built in? Can you tell me how to access it, in case I need it?

  12. #52
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by joshendy View Post
    Hi everyone,

    The steps above worked great for me, however when I entered the shell 'adb shell' I only had the '$' showing, as opposed to the '#' root access character. Without root access there was no way to continue. So I managed to find another topic where freaktab user N4RPS posted a series of commands to get superuser access on his Nextbook. Big thanks to him!

    Here they are:

    1. C:\ADB> adb shell
    2. shell@android:/ $ mv /data/local/tmp /data/local/tmp.bak
    3. shell@android:/ $ ln -s /data /data/local/tmp
    4. shell@android:/ $ exit
    5. C:\ADB> adb reboot
    6. C:\ADB> adb wait-for-device
    7. C:\ADB> adb shell
    8. shell@android:/ $ echo ro.kernel.qemu=1 >/data/local.prop
    9. shell@android:/ $ exit
    10. C:\ADB> adb reboot
    11. C:\ADB> adb wait-for-device
    12. C:\ADB> adb remount
    remount succeeded
    13. C:\ADB> adb push su /system/bin/su
    518 KB/s (22364 bytes in 0.042s)
    14. C:\ADB> adb shell
    15. root@android:/ # chown root.shell /system/bin/su
    16. root@android:/ # chmod 06755 /system/bin/su
    17. root@android:/ # rm /system/xbin/su
    rm failed for /system/xbin/su, No such file or directory
    18. 255|root@android:/ # ln -s /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su
    19. root@android:/ # exit
    20. C:\ADB> adb push Superuser.apk /system/app/.
    3923 KB/s (843503 bytes in 0.209s)
    21. C:\ADB> adb shell
    22. root@android:/ # rm /data/local.prop
    23. root@android:/ # rm /data/local/tmp
    24. root@android:/ # mv /data/local/tmp.bak /data/local/tmp
    25. root@android:/ # exit

    (Instead of 'C:\ADB' make sure to use your own adb.exe from your 'android-sdk/platform-tools' folder.)

    This is a shorter version of what N4RPS posted but it was all I needed to do. After doing this and rebooting my device, I was able to enter 'adb shell', still get the '$' icon but then by typing 'su' (Superuser) I was given the '#' icon and I was able to then dump my ROM to my sd card!

    Being a real noob to android this took me some 10 hours of playing around to figure out, but I'm always ready for a challenge. I really hope this saves others from having to hit their head against the wall repeatedly like I had too.

    If you google 'android superuser' you will be able to find the 'su' file and the 'Superuser.apk' file that you need to complete the above steps.

    Cheers,
    Josh
    honestly, i'm quite lost on this issue. i guess i'm just not understanding how the command prompt is supposed to react. this is the first time ive tried anything this complex before, and im about ready to give up. maybe someone could explain the command prompt a little better? like for instance; if the location of the dump folder matters, or will it automatically find it? (probably a stupid question) if it does matter; then where is the best place to put it?

  13. #53
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    36

    I cant get your drivers to work with cx-803

    Quote Originally Posted by domrad View Post
    What you need :
    a pc, usb cable and, ofc, your android device with sdcard

    What you need to download(if you havent got it yet):
    Android SDK. here's the link on how to install it and download link.. http://developer.android.com/sdk/installing.html

    USB driver of your device. http://db.tt/2Cm2KUV6

    RKDump file. http://db.tt/plRFmRh6

    Instructions:
    1. enable USB debugging on the device
    2. Download and Install android SDK (dont forget JAVA JDK if you havent got it yet)
    3. now connect your device to your pc, you will see Windows will try to install appropriate driver for your device, if it installed properly then you're lucky, you can proceed to step 4, if not then we need to install the driver using USB driver you downloaded earlier, here's how..

    3a. extract the usb_driver.rar you downloaded.

    3b. open the folder you just extracted and look for android_winusb.inf, right click it and click open with, choose notepad.

    3c. click start menu, and on the search bar, type device manager, then choose device manager on the search result.

    3d. on device manager.. look for a not properly installed driver, on mine its arnova because i have arnova 7b g2 capacitive..

    3e. right click on that driver --> click properties --> click on the details tab --> look for the hardware ids, it usually comes after device description on property section

    3f. on the Value section, right click the shorter value and copy it. mine is like this... USB\VID_0E79&PID_143B&MI_01

    3g. on the open notepad editing android_winusb.inf, look for this entries... there's 2 entries like this..
    1 on [Google.NTx86] area and 1 on [Google.NTamd64].

    ;Arnova 7b g2
    %SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0E79&PID_143B
    %CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0E79&PID_143B&MI_01

    3h. change Anova 7b g2 to your device name or whatever you want, im sure it doesnt matter as its just a comment .. on %CompositeAdbInterface% entry, erase all value after "=" sign and then press ctrl+v(paste)... same on %SingleAdbInterface% entry but delete the "&" sign and any letters after it.
    you need to do this on [Google.NTx86] and [Google.NTamd64] part. SAVE it and close notepad.

    3i. on device manager, right click on not properly installed driver for your device and click update driver software, then choose browse my computer for driver software --> locate the folder usb_driver then just click next etc etc..until you finish installing the driver. ok so thats the hard part.. the rest is just easy..

    now for the adb part..
    4. copy RKdump file you downloaded on the same folder as ADB.exe, usually its in folder Program Files (x86)/android/android-sdk/platform-tools
    5. click menu and on search bar, type cmd, right click cmd.exe and run as administrator.
    6. on the cmd command prompt, type "cd\program files (x86)/android/android-sdk/platform-tools" without the quote.
    7. type

    adb devices

    there should be 1 device on the list. otherwise review previous steps.

    8. type

    adb push rkdump /data/

    if no error then proceed, otherwise, review step 4

    9. type

    adb shell
    *if you see a "#" sign and a cursor next to it then we're good to go.. otherwise.. review all above steps as you might somehow got the previous steps wrong.

    10. type

    chmod 755 /data/rkdump

    *this will make RKDump executable

    11. type

    /data/rkdump /dev/block/mtdblock5 /sdcard/update.img

    *this will copy update.img on your sdcard which most dev needed to cook rom

    the end.

    note: if you want to copy any other part of your device partition.. look in here http://androtab.info/rockchip/devel/rkutils/


    I cant your drivers to work. the device shows up as V8 in the device manager, I have followed your steps to the T. although when I install moborobo the drivers get installed automatically. then when i go to cmd.exe and type "adb devices" it shows no devices in the list.

    device manager shows driver provider as HTC CORPERATION.

    help!


    specs
    http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.p...-boot-img-file

  14. #54
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by MrWeelson View Post
    Hi...

    In case anyone else is easily confused like me when editing the 'INF' file :

    May be just me but the original post confused me a little as it said to delete everything after the = sign and after the & under the first entry.
    Easy to see what was meant once you've done it but it could confused a simple person like me!

    Hope you don't mind me adding the slight clarification!

    Cheers

    Thanks for the help!!! worked like a charm!




    ok I am about to give up........ I did everything I could within my knowledge of trying to get this to work....

    I got the drivers installed as per post 14 of this thread. but i still cant see my device in "adb devices".

    I need help here guys.......

    I am at your mercy.

    or my device is at my mercy of being thrown against the wall !!!!
    Last edited by crooked8s; 01-27-2013 at 11:56 AM. Reason: update of progress.

  15. #55
    Member vik2009's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    63
    Quote Originally Posted by bryman777 View Post
    Heres my Tab ..
    Proscan 10.1
    Boxchip A10,
    Im not sure if this is because im on Windows 8 or not, but I followed your directions for the usb drivers. Heres what im getting in the command prompt.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
    (c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>cd\program files (x86)/android/android-sdk/platform-tools
    C:\Program Files (x86)\android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb devices
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *
    List of devices attached
    emulator-5554 device
    20080411413fc082 device

    C:\Program Files (x86)\android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb push rkdump /data/
    error: more than one device and emulator
    C:\Program Files (x86)\android\android-sdk\platform-tools>

    only other things I have attached to the usb are my wireless network adapter, wireless keyboard and mouse. Any Idea of what im doing Wrong? You Rock Finless !!!

    Okay figured it out, It seems I had installed a program called Bluestacks that was running on the 5554 port..

    You have two devices connected:
    emulator-5554 device
    20080411413fc082 device

    You use instead:
    > adb -s 20080411413fc082push rkdump /data/
    for copy rkdump to physical device "20080411413fc082".

    Vik

  16. #56
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    16



    hi i have got same problem with cx803 with fineless bob 1.7 making a full img backup.

    tried all blocks, only block 1 was able to read., other blocks gave me unknow image

    regards

  17. #57
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    13,459
    RKdump wont work on rk3066.

    You have to use linux and DD or use the Linux RKflash tool found on XDA.


    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"

    Video Link -> Safety Video #1
    Video Link -> CAUTION using powerful tools!

  18. #58
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    16
    thnx bob for the info.

  19. #59
    ROM Developers abdul_pt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    456
    Quote Originally Posted by Finless View Post
    RKdump wont work on rk3066.

    You have to use linux and DD or use the Linux RKflash tool found on XDA.


    Bob
    Hi all,
    you can use romdump in rk3066. It gives you 5 files boot.img,recovery.img,system.rar,system.info.rar and a checksum. I dumped my rk3066 yesterday using this, but haven´t flashed back to confirm if it´s ok.

  20. #60
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    13,459
    Quote Originally Posted by abdul_pt View Post
    Hi all,
    you can use romdump in rk3066. It gives you 5 files boot.img,recovery.img,system.rar,system.info.rar and a checksum. I dumped my rk3066 yesterday using this, but haven´t flashed back to confirm if it´s ok.
    This does not dump kernel.img so if you ROM does not have kernel in boot.img you wont be able to make a flashable rom.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"

    Video Link -> Safety Video #1
    Video Link -> CAUTION using powerful tools!

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •