Page 1 of 38 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 750

Thread: MK808 Android mini TV Player - Finless 1.5A Custom ROM

  1. #1
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,261

    MK808 Android mini TV Player - Finless 1.5A Custom ROM

    Hello again folks!
    I am back with a new ROM for the MK808.
    I am calling this 1.5a. It is made from the Mk808 10/27 release.
    This is what I have done to the ROM to customize it:

    Release Notes for 1.5a:
    1) This release does not corrupt the file system anymore with the reboot APP or unplugging.
    2) Wifi still drops from 65 down depending on conditions.
    However because I added init.d support to this ROM I also added a script that runs every boot up.
    The script sets the following:
    # sets the wlan0 to 65mbs
    iwconfig wlan0 rate 65 fixed
    # turns off power management.
    iwconfig wlan0 power off
    Thanks to deadhp1 for this idea. I have tested this and it seems to work. I only once dropped to 58mbps.
    But I have not seen it drop lower. So I am not sure this fixes it or not but it seems to.
    If you want to remove this script, since you are rooted use ES File Explorer.
    Make sure root is set and system is mounted RW in ES File Explorer settings.
    got to /etc/init.d and delete the script 00wifi
    3) Since my last release Google had 2 updates and I updated this ROM.
    Google Play store version 3.9.16
    Google Search update.
    4) This time I did NOT patch the wifi drivers like 1.5.
    While the patch seemed to work for some, it also seemed to mess up others.
    So for this release I did not patch Wifi except for the script mentioned above which you can remove.
    5) Build.prop twekas for general performance and youtube/netflix buffering performance:
    I added this to build.prop. Again since you are rooted you can edit them out if you want.

    # My tweaks for Netflix and Youtube buffer issues
    # To turn these off just put a pound symbol in front like this line.
    # A pound symbol means a comment line so you know.
    media.stagefright.enable-player=true
    media.stagefright.enable-meta=true
    media.stagefright.enable-scan=false
    media.stagefright.enable-http=true
    net.tcp.buffersize.default=4096,87380,256960,4096, 16384,256960
    net.tcp.buffersize.wifi=4096,87380,256960,4096,163 84,256960
    net.tcp.buffersize.umts=4096,87380,256960,4096,163 84,256960
    net.tcp.buffersize.gprs=4096,87380,256960,4096,163 84,256960
    net.tcp.buffersize.edge=4096,87380,256960,4096,163 84,256960
    net.tcp.buffersize.evdo_b=4096,87380,256960,4096,1 6384,256960

    # My Tweaks for performance
    # To turn these off and turn on defaults comment out the next 3 lines and remove the pound symbol from the last 2.
    ro.kernel.android.checkjni=0
    ro.kernel.checkjni=0
    wifi.supplicant_scan_interval=100
    #wifi.supplicant_scan_interval=15
    #ro.kernel.android.checkjni=1

    These are the updates for 1.5a. Everything else below still applies like my 1.5 ROM.

    Bob


    ______________________________


    Features in 1.5a ROM:

    1) Fully rooted with the latest SU and SUperUser.apk
    2) Debloated of china and other junk APPs.
    3) Special add for this ROM. Full init.d support! If you do not know what that is... ignore it.
    If you do, you can now install and use boot time scripts like V6 SUper Charger!
    4) All APPs are up to date as of 11/03/2012! So you will not get any Google Play APPs needing updated.
    5) I added the RK launcher and RK Setting like the MX1 and UG802. So you now have a choice of which launcher you want to use! You will get asked which launcher to use on first boot.
    6) Cleaned up the file system so it is not fragmented! Basicly I used linux tune2fs when making the images.
    7) I added a reboot APP that will allow you to reboot the device from the Android UI. No more unplugging the unit! It will also allow you to reboot to ROM flash mode and later when I add ClockWork Mod, it will reboot to recovery.
    8) ADDED BONUS User APP space by default is only 1.5GB. I have increased that to 2Gig.
    9) The Xbox XPAD.KO module is now injected on boot. This was by request! Enjoy!
    10) My custom init.d wifi script and build.prop tweaks as stated above in the release notes.

    ____________________________________

    In the ROM kit there is a read me! This has full instructions for how to upgrade. So PLEASE read the read me!

    Here is my Finless 1.5a MK808 ROM:

    ROM -> MK808 Finless 1.5a ROM with init.d (244 megs)

    Enjoy,
    Bob
    Last edited by Finless; 11-25-2012 at 01:08 PM.
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    105
    Great! Will try this right away.

    Thanks Finless!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3
    Hi Finless,

    it seems that the link doesn't work, no download...

    Thanks,

    Dr. Gonzo

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Gonzo View Post
    Hi Finless,

    it seems that the link doesn't work, no download...

    Thanks,

    Dr. Gonzo
    Works here...

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by plushsat View Post
    Works here...
    I'm gettin' redirected to the page where the "remember me" issue is explained. It worked the last time with downloading 1.5 ROM.

    Cheers

    Dr. Gonzo

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    15

    AW: NEW - MK808 Android mini TV Player - Finless 1.5A Custom ROM

    Hey!
    First post on freaktab

    For now (about 15min of testing) all is working fine!
    2 issuse:

    Rebootapp dont work for me!

    Wifi drops sometime to 54 mbs
    (But is this an issuse? )

    All in all
    Great work bob
    And thank you for your hard work!!!

    Cheers manu



    Gesendet von meinem GT-I9100 mit Tapatalk 2

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by plushsat View Post
    Works here...
    ...here too now...


    Sorry,

    Dr. Gonzo


  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    105
    WiFi is working great so far!

    Thanks Finless!

    Btw, someone just ported a early version/preview of CM10 on MK808. Worth checking

    http://www.armtvtech.com/armtvtechfo...php?f=13&t=438
    Last edited by vampirex; 11-03-2012 at 11:18 AM.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    3

    ethernet doesnt works

    can you pls have look at the ethernet connection? it doesnt works now . at the deadhp1 its working good, but your img is faster. thanks for your works!

  10. #10
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,261
    Thread Starter
    I changed nothing with ethernet from the stock ROM. Did deadhp1 change something in his that I am unaware of?

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    31
    Just installed, thanx for the new release. Overclocked to 1416 Mhz, I love the speed.

    WiFi working very well, download maximum @ 15 Mbit/s, well enough for me.

    Name it the very first WORKING, USEABLE rom for MK808

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Finless View Post
    I changed nothing with ethernet from the stock ROM. Did deadhp1 change something in his that I am unaware of?

    Bob
    in 1.4 version I've could connect through ethernet, but not now, even if I set up a static IP setup it doesnt work.
    but of cause if there are not other users with same problem then problem is on my site .

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Warrington, Cheshire (UK)
    Posts
    8
    Installed earlier this evening and all OK. Starting to reinstall the apps I definitely want to keep - although due to the Wireless problems I still can't download a GTA III fully (but I've found a dodgy solution to get my purchased app working - or so I hope).

    WiFi better than what it was before, still drops out (GTA III being a real PITA as it never downloads past 39% - but I've found a solution to that I hope).

    Two quick questions:

    a) Connecting a 360 pad. If I buy a separate pad and sync it to the MK808 - what extra software should I use as the host? I bought the SixAxis app but it didn't like my non-official PS3 pad, so thought I might as well give the 360 a bash instead.

    b) Swap the launcher back to standard. Being a dumbo here but where do I switch the launcher back to a stock Android one. The new one is nice, but I just prefer to be on a stock launcher.

  14. #14
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,261
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by muguk View Post
    b) Swap the launcher back to standard. Being a dumbo here but where do I switch the launcher back to a stock Android one. The new one is nice, but I just prefer to be on a stock launcher.
    Go into settings and manage APPs. Slide over to show ALL APPs (not just downloaded).
    Click on the launcherNEW and tap the clear defaults button.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by Krinyo View Post
    Name it the very first WORKING, USEABLE rom for MK808
    New Antutu record, 7436 @ 1416 MHz.

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Warrington, Cheshire (UK)
    Posts
    8
    Cheers Bob - back to standard launcher. Feel more at home and know where things go

    Can't get the bluetooth to switch on though, so still struggling with getting any gamepad to work with it. But will persevere.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by pesi View Post
    in 1.4 version I've could connect through ethernet, but not now, even if I set up a static IP setup it doesnt work.
    but of cause if there are not other users with same problem then problem is on my site .
    sry my mistake .. just ip conflict ..

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    3
    Hi.

    I installed this new version. Everything went ok. I tested it for two hours and it worked smoothly.

    I tried to play a big video file with XM player, the MK808 freezed and I had to disconnect the power supply. Now it doesn't boot up. It shows the loading screen forever.

    Has anyone experienced the same?.

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by muguk View Post
    ...
    a) Connecting a 360 pad. If I buy a separate pad and sync it to the MK808 - what extra software should I use as the host? I bought the SixAxis app but it didn't like my non-official PS3 pad, so thought I might as well give the 360 a bash instead...
    I launched Modern Combat 3, he is running very well but i have to found a real playable solution with pad, cause i made some test with a simple mouse usb connected.

    I found this solution with psx3 pad and sixaxis controller, im going to see if i can find a someone giving a pad for while for some test

    But if anyone knows other solution with a another pad or the way to emulate usb pad or keyboard and mouse

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    13
    1.5a is working very well for me. Wifi is much better.

Page 1 of 38 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •