Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 64

Thread: Installing Rockchip drivers for flashing!

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Damo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hull, England, UK
    Posts
    3,374

    Installing Rockchip drivers for flashing!

    Installing Rockchip drivers for flashing!

    Installing drivers for Rockchip based Tablets!

    Please follow the instruction below to install the Rockchip drivers onto your computer for purposes of flashing your tablet with custom firmware etc. This is the Arnova 10G2 Method, please refer to your own tablet recovery mode.

    1) Hold the volume up

    2) Press the reset button for two seconds than release while still holding the volume buttom, a few seconds later the tablet will go into recovery mode, the screen goes black.

    3) Connect your tablet to your Pc with the supplied cable.


    You will now see this pop up on your computer.

    Name:  Capture0.PNG
Views: 96851
Size:  37.4 KB


    Now go into device manager on your computer and look for the UNKNOWN DEVICE, right click and select update device software and you will be presented with this screen.

    Name:  capture1.PNG
Views: 94366
Size:  28.9 KB


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Now click browse my computer for driver software. Locate the firmware folder and go to the drivers folder and select the correct driver for your operating system. This will now load the Rockchip driver for your tablet. See below

    Name:  Capture2.PNG
Views: 94166
Size:  22.1 KB



    Click the always trust software from box, and this will install the Rockchip drivers on your computer and you will see this come up when finished.

    Name:  Capture3.PNG
Views: 96445
Size:  27.6 KB


    Name:  Capture4.PNG
Views: 92810
Size:  13.9 KB


    Name:  Capture6.PNG
Views: 93845
Size:  20.1 KB

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    You can now see the RK29 Device in device manager.

    Name:  Capture 7.PNG
Views: 105457
Size:  42.8 KB



    That is the driver installed and ready to go!



    Installing firmware using the Rockchip RKAndroid Tool


    Go into the firmware folder and start the RK29 update program.

    Name:  Capture8.PNG
Views: 94020
Size:  49.6 KB



    You should now see the FOUND RKANDROID LOADER ROCK USB at the bottom of the program screen, this is good your device is connected. Click Erase IDB and you will notice that some writing will come up on the right, just wait for that to complete. Now click run and this will install the firmware on your tablet.
    Be patient for this bit it can take up to 5 minutes, you will notice that your tablet will have some writing come up on it, this is the flashing process. Once this is done your tablet will reboot with the new firmware!

    Enjoy!
    Last edited by Damo; 05-16-2012 at 03:53 PM.

  2. #2
    Administrator WillJames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,410
    Great Tutorial Damo! The great news as well guys as once you do what Damo has described above once, you don't have to do it again if you flash your device again as the drivers will already be installed.

  3. #3
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,151
    Awesome job Damo!!!! This is the best tutorial I have seen to date!

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  4. #4
    great tutorial Damo
    finally something that should anser all these flashing questions
    Arnova10G2: USB to Ethernet - PLEASE TELL ME HOW?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    81
    Every time I plug in my Polaroid PMID700 it is recognized in Device Manager as USB Mass Storage Device.
    Plug and Play automatically installs the Polaroid drivers. When I attempt to "update driver" manually "Specified location does not contain information about your drive" message.

    The only times I was able to get the yellow? the USB Mass Storage Device was there as well. When I attempted to install the driver for the yellow? it ended up as a "generic storage volume."

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Damo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hull, England, UK
    Posts
    3,374
    Thread Starter
    You need to put your device into recovery mode than plug your device into your computer, unless you put it into recovery mode it will only be seen as a USB storage device

    Download Tapatalk! For easier navigation of Freaktab on your phone.
    Please consider donating to purchase tablets for Finless Bob to continue his work. This will help in the creation of custom roms and build an even stronger development base for our community. Thank you for you support!

    PLEASE CLICK THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW







  7. #7
    Super Moderator Damo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hull, England, UK
    Posts
    3,374
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Damo View Post
    You need to put your device into recovery mode than plug your device into your computer, unless you put it into recovery mode it will only be seen as a USB storage device

    Download Tapatalk! For easier navigation of Freaktab on your phone.
    See tutorial

    http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.p...s-for-flashing!

    Download Tapatalk! For easier navigation of Freaktab on your phone.
    Please consider donating to purchase tablets for Finless Bob to continue his work. This will help in the creation of custom roms and build an even stronger development base for our community. Thank you for you support!

    PLEASE CLICK THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW







  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    81
    I followed the instructions finless provided in the ROM download read me and the instructions above. The info he provided only indicated is to hit the rest button.


    EDIT>>>> I went to the test ROM instructions and found the answer. A hard key (like volume) needs to be pressed and held during power up. --Thanks chidave for that tip.
    Last edited by mrshoe; 02-15-2012 at 09:37 AM. Reason: Answer found in another thread

  9. #9
    Member doughy2002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Cambridgeshire UK
    Posts
    35

    Drivers

    Hi

    Have flashed a rom before on my Arnova 10 G2 , one of finless roms but now when i try to install the rockchip drivers I get a message saying tey are not right for my device, are there any others i can try?
    I'm using Win7 64 bit

    Many Thanks
    Edit: Got it sorted anyway, thanks for the rom
    Last edited by doughy2002; 02-20-2012 at 12:20 PM.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    my house
    Posts
    3
    EDIT - just found the READ ME FIRST bit in the download...

    beginers hey.. lol

    any other tips?
    Last edited by lawsy; 02-29-2012 at 11:22 AM.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    my house
    Posts
    3
    One question, now its all installed and running, i i plug it back into my laptop it wants to install the arnova driver, should i do this - is this just to transfer it as a usb hard drive?


    Also, major thanks for doing this too, my missus is now over the moon

  12. #12
    Super Moderator Damo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hull, England, UK
    Posts
    3,374
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by lawsy View Post
    One question, now its all installed and running, i i plug it back into my laptop it wants to install the arnova driver, should i do this - is this just to transfer it as a usb hard drive?


    Also, major thanks for doing this too, my missus is now over the moon
    If your tablet is not in recovery mode when you plug your tablet in than yes it may just be installing the driver for showing mass storage

    Sent from my SK17i using Tapatalk
    Please consider donating to purchase tablets for Finless Bob to continue his work. This will help in the creation of custom roms and build an even stronger development base for our community. Thank you for you support!

    PLEASE CLICK THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW







  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    my house
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Damo View Post
    If your tablet is not in recovery mode when you plug your tablet in than yes it may just be installing the driver for showing mass storage

    Sent from my SK17i using Tapatalk

    i shall try that then, didnt want it to go and undo everything i had just done.

    many thanks again for the read me, notes, made it very easy for a technophobe like me to sort.. the wife's happy playing some zoo or farm thing on it now

  14. #14
    Super Moderator Damo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hull, England, UK
    Posts
    3,374
    Thread Starter
    Once you have the drivers installed they are there for good, and now any future firmwares will be a breeze to install

    Sent from my SK17i using Tapatalk
    Please consider donating to purchase tablets for Finless Bob to continue his work. This will help in the creation of custom roms and build an even stronger development base for our community. Thank you for you support!

    PLEASE CLICK THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW







  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3
    Hello,

    I have a question about installing te rockchip driver.

    When put the arnova 10 in recovery mode and connect it to my pc, i'll get this message:



    So good so far, but than windows 7 recognize my arnova tablet



    I can uninstall the one windows auto installs, but it auto installs every time it gets plugged in, even when i have disabled automatic driver installation in windows.

    Can someone suggest me a solution for this problem?

    Thanks in advance!

  16. #16
    Super Moderator Damo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hull, England, UK
    Posts
    3,374
    Thread Starter
    It looks like this is just trying to install the drivers for mass storage, just install them. Than just carry on installing the rockchip driver with the tutorial

    http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.p...s-for-flashing!

    Sent from my SK17i using Tapatalk
    Please consider donating to purchase tablets for Finless Bob to continue his work. This will help in the creation of custom roms and build an even stronger development base for our community. Thank you for you support!

    PLEASE CLICK THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW







  17. #17
    Member doughy2002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Cambridgeshire UK
    Posts
    35
    Are you using the drivers that came packaged with the ROM?

    Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Damo View Post
    It looks like this is just trying to install the drivers for mass storage, just install them. Than just carry on installing the rockchip driver with the tutorial
    You're right, he's installed as a mass storage device



    right click-> update driver software doesn't work.

    And i don't have another option for a unknown device.

  19. #19
    Super Moderator Damo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Hull, England, UK
    Posts
    3,374
    Thread Starter
    Put your tablet into recovery mode before you plug it in to your computer, your screen should turn black when you do this.

    This looks like you are not in recovery mode

    Sent from my SK17i using Tapatalk
    Please consider donating to purchase tablets for Finless Bob to continue his work. This will help in the creation of custom roms and build an even stronger development base for our community. Thank you for you support!

    PLEASE CLICK THE DONATE BUTTON BELOW







  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Damo View Post
    Put your tablet into recovery mode before you plug it in to your computer, your screen should turn black when you do this.

    This looks like you are not in recovery mode

    Sent from my SK17i using Tapatalk

    Youre right again. I have used a better quality paperclip this time. :')
    Sorry for my noobisch behaviour.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •