Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 100

Thread: Touchscreen

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    11

    Touchscreen

    Hi,
    some time ago i asked about how to get my touchscreen work - since all i got was a !relative! cursor which i could move around. Meanwhile I figured it out - and I thought I should share it with you - if anyone else searches it.
    To get the screen into touchscreen mode - all I had to do was creating a input-device-config file for the screen as decribed here:
    http://source.android.com/tech/input...ion-files.html

    for my Acer T230H:
    it is named "Vendor_0408_Product_3001.idc" and goes to "/system/usr/idc/Vendor_XXXX_Product_XXXX_Version_XXXX.idc"
    (Acer T231H should be "Vendor_0408_Product_3001.idc" - or the other way round not sure anymore)

    The file-content has to be:
    touch.deviceType=touchScreen
    device.internal=1

    and a 3rd BLANK line!!! wich is important or it wont work - also be sure to use unix encoding for the file.
    Maybe you could add this to you readme file or even inclue those 2 files in your next ROM for other people to have it right away.

    Thanks for your great ROM.

    I love my 23"-Tablet

    [Btw I nearly never had Wifi-Problems using another Power adaptor - but somehow each time I unpluged USB and reconnected - I had to reboot to get it working again - well uptime is now > 1 week without problems]

    ________________________________
    Per request by the OP, I am adding post 9 and 25 to this 1st post so it is all in one place.

    Bob

    ____________________________
    Post #9

    Quote Originally Posted by kmoldr View Post
    I would love to try this, but have no idea of how & where to insert the information from the instructions. I am a total noob looking to learn. I have the same Acer monitor as Badbone & a MK808 with 1.5 Finless Bob rom. Which in turn leads to a big thanks to Bob for his wonderful work for all of us.
    Vendor_0408_Product_3000.txt
    So here is a Step-by-Step guide:
    0. connect an usb-hub and a keyboard/mouse to you MK808
    1. Install BusyBox Free -> Market -> run the installer
    2. Install Terminal Emulator -> Market
    3. run Terminal Emulator -> write down "lsusb" -> remember the output
    4. Connect your monitor to the USB of the MK808
    5. run Terminal Emulator -> write down "lsusb" -> remember the output
    6. by comparing the two outputs of "lsusb" you should see wich new device was plugged-in
    7. The last two numbers seperated by the ":" are the PID and VID of the touch interface wich you will need - for me they are 0408 and 3000
    8. download the attached file and rename it: replace the with the numbers you found by the method above & rename the file-ending to *.idc
    9. copy the file to you device (e.g. by using an sd card, dropbox, wireless adb,...)
    10. open terminal emulator again and write down "su" -> wait for the root confirmation window and accept it
    11. write down "cp /sdcard/Vendor_0408_Product_3000.idc /system/idc/Vendor_0408_Product_3000.idc" (replace the path "/sdcard" with the path you copied the file to)
    12. reboot the device
    13. have fun

    regards
    BadBone

    ____________________________

    Post #25

    GOT IT!!!!!

    used the attached file and renamed it the right way with ubuntu.
    copyed it to a micro-sd, copy and pasted the file in system/usr/idc with es file explorer (with mount /system on).
    hooked up a mouse and keyboard started a terminal.
    and typed:

    su
    chown 0,0 /system/usr/idc/Vendor_0408_Product_3001.idc
    chmod 06755 /system/usr/idc/Vendor_0408_Product_3001.idc
    reboot

    that did the trick,works great now.
    Thank you all for the help.
    Last edited by Finless; 02-13-2013 at 12:09 PM.

  2. #2
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    14,908
    I moved this into it's own post as this is great info but was burried in the bootscreen thread.

    Thanks for sharing this info.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  3. #3
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    14,908
    Badbone, so what does this actually do for you?
    How are you using this feature? with VNC and a tablet or something?

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    158
    I think the 23" screen he is referring to is an actual touchscreen. So now he can use it as a "tablet". That's what I got atleast.. So

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    11
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by samyboy89 View Post
    I think the 23" screen he is referring to is an actual touchscreen. So now he can use it as a "tablet". That's what I got atleast.. So
    Exactly - actualy its the "PC" for our kitchen with a movable wallmount
    For recipes, watching movies / TV, hearing music,...

    The Acer T230H/T321H is a 23" Screen with an optical touch. 1,5 years ago this screen was about thew same price as a normal 23" screen (230€) Wich was quite cheap this time. It can interpret up to 2 points most time. It also has some little speakers so you have a fully working Multimedia PC / GIANT-Tablet
    Just plug in the UG and connect USB and you are ready.

    [Sry for missposting this - i already wondered where I posted it - cause it was meant to be in the ROM thread ]

  6. #6
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    14,908
    So how does the ug802 get the touch screen input? Certianly not through HDMI interface. So when you say hook up the USB that is how it is working? e.g. a usb cable from the touch monitor to the ug802?

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    11
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Finless View Post
    So how does the ug802 get the touch screen input? Certianly not through HDMI interface. So when you say hook up the USB that is how it is working? e.g. a usb cable from the touch monitor to the ug802?

    Bob
    Aye - I left out the power-connections in my explanation - T230H has an usb interface for the touch input and for display the common interfaces HDMI/DVI/VGA
    So you just need to plug in the UG in to the monitor + plug the monitor USB -> UG USB and give both power.
    The pid/vid for the device I got by installing a terminal app & busybox so I could look up them by "lsusb" from terminal.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Comox
    Posts
    3
    I would love to try this, but have no idea of how & where to insert the information from the instructions. I am a total noob looking to learn. I have the same Acer monitor as Badbone & a MK808 with 1.5 Finless Bob rom. Which in turn leads to a big thanks to Bob for his wonderful work for all of us.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    11
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by kmoldr View Post
    I would love to try this, but have no idea of how & where to insert the information from the instructions. I am a total noob looking to learn. I have the same Acer monitor as Badbone & a MK808 with 1.5 Finless Bob rom. Which in turn leads to a big thanks to Bob for his wonderful work for all of us.
    Vendor_0408_Product_3000.txt
    So here is a Step-by-Step guide:
    0. connect an usb-hub and a keyboard/mouse to you MK808
    1. Install BusyBox Free -> Market -> run the installer
    2. Install Terminal Emulator -> Market
    3. run Terminal Emulator -> write down "lsusb" -> remember the output
    4. Connect your monitor to the USB of the MK808
    5. run Terminal Emulator -> write down "lsusb" -> remember the output
    6. by comparing the two outputs of "lsusb" you should see wich new device was plugged-in
    7. The last two numbers seperated by the ":" are the PID and VID of the touch interface wich you will need - for me they are 0408 and 3000
    8. download the attached file and rename it: replace the with the numbers you found by the method above & rename the file-ending to *.idc
    9. copy the file to you device (e.g. by using an sd card, dropbox, wireless adb,...)
    10. open terminal emulator again and write down "su" -> wait for the root confirmation window and accept it
    11. write down "cp /sdcard/Vendor_0408_Product_3000.idc /system/idc/Vendor_0408_Product_3000.idc" (replace the path "/sdcard" with the path you copied the file to)
    12. reboot the device
    13. have fun

    regards
    BadBone

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Comox
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by BadBone View Post
    Vendor_0408_Product_3000.txt
    So here is a Step-by-Step guide:
    0. connect an usb-hub and a keyboard/mouse to you MK808
    1. Install BusyBox Free -> Market -> run the installer
    2. Install Terminal Emulator -> Market
    3. run Terminal Emulator -> write down "lsusb" -> remember the output
    4. Connect your monitor to the USB of the MK808
    5. run Terminal Emulator -> write down "lsusb" -> remember the output
    6. by comparing the two outputs of "lsusb" you should see wich new device was plugged-in
    7. The last two numbers seperated by the ":" are the PID and VID of the touch interface wich you will need - for me they are 0408 and 3000
    8. download the attached file and rename it: replace the with the numbers you found by the method above & rename the file-ending to *.idc
    9. copy the file to you device (e.g. by using an sd card, dropbox, wireless adb,...)
    10. open terminal emulator again and write down "su" -> wait for the root confirmation window and accept it
    11. write down "cp /sdcard/Vendor_0408_Product_3000.idc /system/idc/Vendor_0408_Product_3000.idc" (replace the path "/sdcard" with the path you copied the file to)
    12. reboot the device
    13. have fun

    regards
    BadBone

    Thanks so much for the detailed instructions BadBone, I will be trying this later this evening...can't wait.

    All the best from Canada,
    Kevin M

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    8
    I am trying to do the same thing on my dell ST2220T touchscreen monitor. I've followed all the steps you've mentioned but the touchscreen doesn't seem to be working.

    My ug802 has Finless 1.4a version on it.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks
    Moorthy

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Comox
    Posts
    3
    Even with BadBones excellent instructions, no love for me either yet. I get to step 11, and after entering the cp command in terminal I get a "cannot stat..." I am trying to copy the idc file from a micro sd card (which is now formatted correctly, not so the first go arounds) and my next attempt will be via Dropbox when I get time.

    I have the same monitor with the same product & vendor identifiers as BadBone, so it should be pretty easy me, but I am still doing something incorrectly. I will post if I can make it happen & what I was doing wrong.

    Kevin M

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    60
    The error cp stat usually means the path/filename is not interpreted correctly - it could be you need the full path starting with / or the filename has non-standard characters in it in which case you could put the filename in quotes.

    Remember to use tab to autocomplete filenames as it does all the adding quotes or literal chars for you.

    Did you get it working by the way? I am hoping to pick up one of these monitors on ebay and hook it up to my MK802IIIs that just arrived. I've had a Viewsonic VSD220 23" android thingy for a few weeks. Some things are really good - but some problems like most apps on play won't install, no - root and pretty slow overall.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    11
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by morth123 View Post
    I am trying to do the same thing on my dell ST2220T touchscreen monitor. I've followed all the steps you've mentioned but the touchscreen doesn't seem to be working.

    My ug802 has Finless 1.4a version on it.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks
    Moorthy
    Hi,
    sry somehow i didnt get a message about the responses till today.
    - Wich PID / VID do you have?
    - Did you change that in the idc-filename?
    - If it doesnt work - try adding a space in the txt files before and after the = marks - i had to do it once.
    just edit the idc file under linux or under windows with a propper editor (e.g. notepad++) DONT USE the windows editor as it will destroy the unix formating.
    - When saving make sure UNIX format is still active (in notepad++ is written at the bottom right)

    regardig the cp-message - you should post the full error here

    hf guys

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    2

    Great post- quick question

    Quote Originally Posted by BadBone View Post
    Hi,
    sry somehow i didnt get a message about the responses till today.
    - Wich PID / VID do you have?
    - Did you change that in the idc-filename?
    - If it doesnt work - try adding a space in the txt files before and after the = marks - i had to do it once.
    just edit the idc file under linux or under windows with a propper editor (e.g. notepad++) DONT USE the windows editor as it will destroy the unix formating.
    - When saving make sure UNIX format is still active (in notepad++ is written at the bottom right)

    regardig the cp-message - you should post the full error here

    hf guys
    Thanks for a very detailed and useful post. Although I am novice with programming, I wish to get my dell st2220t functioning as 23inch tablet as well.
    My question is about the latest version of mk802 (IIIS)- Do you think the same code will work for the latest build (?ICS4.1) which is available on mk802 IIIS currently?

    Thanks for your help.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    60
    Quote Originally Posted by nirvikalp78 View Post
    Thanks for a very detailed and useful post. Although I am novice with programming, I wish to get my dell st2220t functioning as 23inch tablet as well.
    My question is about the latest version of mk802 (IIIS)- Do you think the same code will work for the latest build (?ICS4.1) which is available on mk802 IIIS currently?

    Thanks for your help.
    I have the MK802IIIS and have just got it working with the Acer T231H as in the above posts. (Although the Android stick seems to reset often when the screen is pressed - which is not great - and the MK802IIIS although outputting 1080p only has a screen area of 720p so doesn't look great close up on a 23" screen)

    Anyway if you plug the USB from the touchscreen to your MK802IIIS do you get a circle on the screen that you can move about? If you do you should be able to follow the instructions in this thread using your VID & PID obtained using the lsusb command.

    The kernel has had the universal touchscreen driver in for a while - you just need the correct .idc file.

    You can check with your VID & PID if the screen is supported in the standard linux kernel here:
    http://lii-enac.fr/en/architecture/l...h-devices.html
    The Acer T231H actually uses the quanta touch system, I can't remember what the Dell uses.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    60
    Quote Originally Posted by BadBone View Post
    Vendor_0408_Product_3000.txt
    So here is a Step-by-Step guide:
    0. connect an usb-hub and a keyboard/mouse to you MK808
    1. Install BusyBox Free -> Market -> run the installer
    2. Install Terminal Emulator -> Market
    3. run Terminal Emulator -> write down "lsusb" -> remember the output
    4. Connect your monitor to the USB of the MK808
    5. run Terminal Emulator -> write down "lsusb" -> remember the output
    6. by comparing the two outputs of "lsusb" you should see wich new device was plugged-in
    7. The last two numbers seperated by the ":" are the PID and VID of the touch interface wich you will need - for me they are 0408 and 3000
    8. download the attached file and rename it: replace the with the numbers you found by the method above & rename the file-ending to *.idc
    9. copy the file to you device (e.g. by using an sd card, dropbox, wireless adb,...)
    10. open terminal emulator again and write down "su" -> wait for the root confirmation window and accept it
    11. write down "cp /sdcard/Vendor_0408_Product_3000.idc /system/idc/Vendor_0408_Product_3000.idc" (replace the path "/sdcard" with the path you copied the file to)
    12. reboot the device
    13. have fun

    regards
    BadBone
    Just one thing to note - I think the path in step 11 to put the .idc file in is /system/usr/idc/ as per your earlier post.

    Anyway huge thanks my screen now works (although my MK802IIIS resets a lot when using the touchscreen - with the mouse it is fine, grrrr!)

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    2

    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by adrenalize View Post
    I have the MK802IIIS and have just got it working with the Acer T231H as in the above posts. (Although the Android stick seems to reset often when the screen is pressed - which is not great - and the MK802IIIS although outputting 1080p only has a screen area of 720p so doesn't look great close up on a 23" screen)

    Anyway if you plug the USB from the touchscreen to your MK802IIIS do you get a circle on the screen that you can move about? If you do you should be able to follow the instructions in this thread using your VID & PID obtained using the lsusb command.

    The kernel has had the universal touchscreen driver in for a while - you just need the correct .idc file.

    You can check with your VID & PID if the screen is supported in the standard linux kernel here:
    http://lii-enac.fr/en/architecture/l...h-devices.html
    The Acer T231H actually uses the quanta touch system, I can't remember what the Dell uses.
    Thanks for replying. I am a bit uncertain if I should go ahead and give it a go- considering the comments about screen resolution. I will feedback if I could get it to work.

    Thanks once again.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    60
    Quote Originally Posted by nirvikalp78 View Post
    Thanks for replying. I am a bit uncertain if I should go ahead and give it a go- considering the comments about screen resolution. I will feedback if I could get it to work.

    Thanks once again.
    Well as you already have both bits of kit it would be worth a few minutes trying. You need to find the VID & PID as per the instructions, but installing busybox etc should only take a few minutes. Remember to put the .idc file in the location a couple of posts up as I think there is a bit missing in the instructions. You will have to remember to make the partition read/write to put the file there! Root Explorer makes it easy as it has a button at the top to "make r/w" etc.

    The resolution is OK - depends what you want to do with it. Mine is in the kitchen as a music player, news reader, web browser etc - and I'm fussy so would like 1080p!

    Just had a Google - think the ST2220T uses the LG touch with the following Vendor=1fd2 Product=0064 Version=0100 I think you can miss out the Version. The Enac website shows it should be supported by the generic multitouch driver from 3.4 onwards - so there is hope it is supported.

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ger
    Posts
    11
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by adrenalize View Post
    Just one thing to note - I think the path in step 11 to put the .idc file in is /system/usr/idc/ as per your earlier post.

    Anyway huge thanks my screen now works (although my MK802IIIS resets a lot when using the touchscreen - with the mouse it is fine, grrrr!)
    regarding the path - ye seems I forgot the usr in my step by step... sry
    the documentation quotes:

    # following paths are consulted in order.


    • /system/usr/idc/Vendor_XXXX_Product_XXXX_Version_XXXX.idc
    • /system/usr/idc/Vendor_XXXX_Product_XXXX.idc
    • /system/usr/idc/DEVICE_NAME.idc
    • /data/system/devices/idc/Vendor_XXXX_Product_XXXX_Version_XXXX.idc
    • /data/system/devices/idc/Vendor_XXXX_Product_XXXX.idc
    • /data/system/devices/idc/DEVICE_NAME.idc
    #

    So you can use any of those...

    I dont have had any reset wiht my ug802 in all the time - should be another problem - maybe not touchscreen related?

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •