Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: ANDYPAD STANDARD Finless ROM Devolopment

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Woodbridge
    Posts
    14

    ANDYPAD STANDARD Finless ROM Devolopment

    Hi, Here we have a ROM development for the Andypad Standard. More info on this tablet can be found on the link below.

    http://www.andypad.co.uk/products/4-andy-pad.aspx


    Andy Pad is priced at Ł129 ($210):
    7” Tablet Computer
    Cortex A8 1.2 Processor
    512MB RAM
    Front-facing camera to chat with friends
    860×480 ResiTouch screen
    8GB Storage
    Micro USB
    Micro SD
    Mini HDMI to 1080p


    Finless will be working on a rom to add super user and maybe Google play market (fingers crossed) it uses a Rockchip RK29 chip

    Thanks to Bob for his help

  2. #2
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,265
    Downloading the ROM now. STay tuned... Might even have time to do something today if all goes well.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  3. #3
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,265
    Is this a RK29 based tablet?
    I cant see how to make a ROM without a parameter file which that download did not have?

    Let me see if I can take apart the sections.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  4. #4
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,265
    OK so took apart boot.img and I see it is a RK29.

    However that ROM download is missing 2 parts I need.
    The Loader and the parameter file.
    If I dont have these I cannot make a ROM. It is too dangerous to use another tabs loader.
    The parameter file I could probably make up if needed.

    Isnt there a update.img available?

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  5. #5
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,265
    OK never mind. I went to the Andypad site where the download was and also downloaded the batch tool which has the needed parameter and loader files.

    So I am all set.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  6. #6
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,265
    Man this thing has a ton of bloat apps.... Want stuff removed?
    If so please go through the list of bloat apps and provide me a lit of what you want removed.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Woodbridge
    Posts
    14
    Thread Starter
    Blimey! You don't waste any time. Got work today so will have a look when I get home to see what can be removed. I wouldn't have known about the missing files from the batch tool. When you've finished will you need to use the batch tool or will it be a flash able zip (cwm)? Thanks again
    Jimsie

    Sent from my Blade using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Woodbridge
    Posts
    14
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Finless View Post
    Man this thing has a ton of bloat apps.... Want stuff removed?
    If so please go through the list of bloat apps and provide me a lit of what you want removed.

    Bob
    Hi Bob,

    right, been through the bloat ware and made a list of apps that can be removed.

    7 Digital
    Dropbox
    Evernote
    Getjar
    Skitch
    Twitter
    Wildtangents.

    That would be great, if I need them I have the APK files for them.

    Thanks for your time, Looking forward to your ROM

  9. #9
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,265
    Here is the ROM for test. It has EXT4 file system now, ClockWork recovery, and I removed the bloat as listed.

    Let me know how it works out. I was able to test a little on my Arnova 10G2 so I know it is not a brick ROM. It boots in other words. I cannot test much else.

    http://video.freaktab.com/?subpath=f..._cwm_beta1.zip

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Woodbridge
    Posts
    14
    Thread Starter
    Hi,

    Thanks Bob, do you flash with batch tool rk29? The one that loads the zip files? Will go and find the tablet and flash it when i hear back, maybe tomorrow. Does it have play market?

    Looking forward to testing it as i'm sure many other people are

    Thank you very much for your fast work.

    Jimsie

  11. #11
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,265
    The ROM download includes everything needed. If you have flashed before using RKBatch tool then you already have the drivers installed. This ROM uses RK Android Tool. It's similar but no the ROM is not all packed up in a update.img because you cant use that with the changes I have made.

    FYI there is a readme.txt in there so any help in updating it on how to put the tablet in flash mode would be helpful.

    Yes I added Google Play but could not test if it works.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Woodbridge
    Posts
    14
    Thread Starter
    okey dokey, downloading now. Had trouble to start with, didn't click remember me, (Duh) when logging in . Most probably be tomorrow afternoon when i get to flash it Can't wait to see your handy work. Seems like you've done a lot of modding so i have high hopes. Will let you know how i get on and write a guide to flash.

    Thanks again,

    Jimsie

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Woodbridge
    Posts
    14
    Thread Starter
    Hi Bob,

    Have posted a link to this forum on the Andypad site so other users can enjoy your work. Full credit goes to you. If i have time will post the forum link on Modaco too.

    Many thanks

    Jimsie

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Woodbridge
    Posts
    14
    Thread Starter
    Now booting on Andypad, were in. Play market works Now downloading Titanium backup, see Superuser in the app list Only a few mins from seeing if have root! Titanium backup installed and granted superuser. You are the man!!! Will spread the word, like the Boot animation. Three days and you've cracked it. Sure lots of people will be happy

  15. #15
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,265
    YOu should also notice a pretty good performance increase with the EXT4 file systems.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Woodbridge
    Posts
    14
    Thread Starter
    All going well, reinstalled apps manually and some a backup with titanium. Yeah performance is good. Did notice a flicker on the home screen but appears to be OK now. Will let you know how I get on. Many thanks again. Hopefully a few more people will download and leave some feedback.

    Thank you for your magic

    Sent from my Blade using Tapatalk

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2
    Hi, I've just downloaded the ROM and I'm trying to flash my Andy Pad but I'm stuck. I've successfully installed drivers and downloaded the RK29update from XDA forum I believe, the thing is paths and offset values are populated with presumably some other ROM details so I am not sure what to do now. I presume these files
    boot.img
    kernel.img
    misc.img
    recovery.img
    system.img
    should go where names suggest but that leaves me with Backup (no idea here), Parameter (parameter.bin?) and Loader (RK29xxLoader(L)_DDR3_400Mhz_V1.66.bin?). And what about offsets and other tabs in RK29update, i.e. NFS and Ram? Do I leave them blank?

    many thanks

  18. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Woodbridge
    Posts
    14
    Thread Starter
    Hi, in the zip file you downloaded there is a readme file explaining the process. Hope this helps. Will have a look when I get home.

    Sent from my Blade using Tapatalk

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2
    Thanks for your reply. The readme file says I am meant to use a file called RK29update which was not included so I downloaded it from somewhere but that did not work. The exe included is called ROM Flash Tool and that one worked fine. Great ROM so far!

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Woodbridge
    Posts
    14
    Thread Starter
    Hi, glad you got the ROM installed, it's great to have the market on there and superuser. Titanium backup and other root programs work a treat

    Sent from my Blade using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •