Ongoing Christmas - Flash Deals Everyday! Up To 90% Off at GeekBuying.com!


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 60

Thread: Skyworth S7 ROM

  1. #21
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,680
    dingduck, the new ROM is uploading now for you to test.

    Should be about 30 minutes and I will have you a link for download.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  2. #22
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,680
    Here is my V1.2 ROM

    Features:
    1) System is Read and Write on boot.
    2) SU and Superuser.apk installed for root access
    3) User APP space increased from 1gig to 2gig
    4) System size increased to allow for rooted apps to have space in /system
    5) Latest Google Play is installed.

    Please see the README in the kit but in summary you:
    1) Erase IDB using the erase button in the flash tool. This is especially needed if your tablet is bricked.
    2) Check the loader box in flash tool so the loader gets flashed with the ROM.
    3) If you already have the drivers for RK BATCH tool / RKAndroid tool installed on your PC. YOU DO NOT need to try and install them again.

    I cannot test this 100% so you will be a crash test dummy
    At least you have a stock ROM now to go back to if it doesnt work.

    Here is the new ROM:

    ROM -> SkyWorth S7 Finless ROM V1.2 full root and GPlay (222 megs)


    Let me know how it goes,
    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  3. #23
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,680
    Sorry dingduck, the link above was to the stock ROM.

    I just updated the link to the correct ROM file.

    Sorry if you already spent the time downloading it.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  4. #24
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,680
    Well? so how does it work?

    I am on pins and needles here

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    16
    Thread Starter
    sorry for late reply, I already went to bed last night (it's UTC +7 here).

    well, after eraseIDB and make sure loader checked, it flashed, reboot and stucked at boot screen...hehehe.

    I tried flash it again but got same result.Now it running on stock rom again.

  6. #26
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,680
    Quote Originally Posted by dingduck View Post
    sorry for late reply, I already went to bed last night (it's UTC +7 here).

    well, after eraseIDB and make sure loader checked, it flashed, reboot and stucked at boot screen...hehehe.

    I tried flash it again but got same result.Now it running on stock rom again.
    CRAP!

    OK I will try again. Not sure my mistake but I will do it over again

    Stay tuned.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  7. #27
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,680
    dingduck, because this ROM had a kernel in boot.img we will have to take 4 steps back.

    I will need you to do exactly as I ask when I produce new files. What I mean by that is please KEEP the 1.2 ROM download that is bad. Then, I will be sending you a new boot.img, system.img, or other files to REPLACE those files in /image of the ROM flash kit. This way I do not have to upload entire ROM kits and you don't have to download them. I will be sending ONLY the peices (files) that are needed as we test to see what happened.

    Do you understand what I am asking?
    I am being picky about this as in the past others working with me did not understand what I was asking and I chased the cat around the house

    So again, I will be sending you ONLY files that will replace files in the image folder of the 2.1 ROM kit. OK? Make sense?

    Thanks,
    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    16
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Finless View Post
    dingduck, because this ROM had a kernel in boot.img we will have to take 4 steps back.

    I will need you to do exactly as I ask when I produce new files. What I mean by that is please KEEP the 1.2 ROM download that is bad. Then, I will be sending you a new boot.img, system.img, or other files to REPLACE those files in /image of the ROM flash kit. This way I do not have to upload entire ROM kits and you don't have to download them. I will be sending ONLY the peices (files) that are needed as we test to see what happened.

    Do you understand what I am asking?
    I am being picky about this as in the past others working with me did not understand what I was asking and I chased the cat around the house

    So again, I will be sending you ONLY files that will replace files in the image folder of the 2.1 ROM kit. OK? Make sense?

    Thanks,
    Bob
    Understood...keep v1.2, replace when necessary..

    Sent from my S7 using Tapatalk 2

  9. #29
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,680
    OK first test please. I think my system.img is good based on looking at it.

    Please do this
    1) Take the parameter file and the boot.img file from the image folder of the STOCK rom kit.
    2) Replace those 2 files from the stock ROM kit into the 1.2 ROM kit.
    3) Reflash the ROM erasing IDB.

    Again I think my system.img is good. My mess up may have been in boot.img or the edits to the parameter file. System.img was made to fit in the STOCK parameter file settings.

    Let me know if that works. You will know it works because on boot you will NOT get my custom boot screen as that is in boot.img. If it goes past the initial boot, you WILL get my custom boot animation that is in system.img.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    16
    Thread Starter
    I'm flashing it right now with parameter and boot.img from stock rom.

    I forgot to mention that when I flash it with your v1.2 rom, it stucked at the boot animation screen (ICS robot with blinking eyes), and the initial boot screen is from the stock rom, not your custom boot screen

  11. #31
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,680
    Hmmmm.... I rarely mess up system.img but this sounds like the problem. If you see the boot animation that means it got past boot and loading the system. However if I messed up the parameter file, it's possible not ALL of system.img was there and thus hangs in the middle.

    I await to see your status on the test.

    However, sorry it's late now for me so time for bed... Talk to you tomorrow.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  12. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    16
    Thread Starter
    nope, it still hangs at animation screen.

    Okay, see you tomorrow. Have a nice dream

  13. #33
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,680
    Dingduck.... VERY interesting ROM. They are trying to fool us and LOCK the boot loader!
    I have finally got the system.img to boot on my Arnova by using other kernels and booters.

    What I learned is that IF there is a kernel in boot.img it does NOT use the kernel.img even though it is flashed as part of the ROM. I looked at the kernel in boot.img and it is NOT the same as kernel.img. So I think this is why it wont boot! I think if I use the kernel from boot.img it will start working.

    Now I will tell you this much. First boot after a ROM flash on my tablet is taking almost 5 minutes. I think this is becaue kernel is not in boot.img anymore? Or maybe just my slower hardware? However after that first boot up, it does boot at normal speed after that. First boot after ROM flash is always longer as the system is setting up files and directories for the first time. BUT it may also take that long on yours the first time when kernel is not in boot.img!!!!

    So what that may mean is after you flash my custom ROM please wait at least 5 minutes before giving up! If the boot animation is still animating, this usually means it is still booting! If it stops animating or reboots, that is when you know something is not right.

    FYI, NO ONE TO DATE has been able to remake a taken apart "android" style boot.img that has a kernel in it (this is called a "android" booter) and remake it back with the kernel in it. The "android" style boot loader has a special CRC that only the manufacturer knows how to make. We hackers cannot make that. They do this so they can lock the boot loader and keep people from rooting it. However we CAN take apart a "android" boot.img and separate the kernel and make a working system. But as you see doing so can make the first boot after a ROM flash longer. Again after first boot, it will be fine after that as far as boot time.

    Anyway just what I am finding with this ROM so far.

    Stay tuned. Now that I can test system.img and boot.img, I should have a new ROM out soon.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  14. #34
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,680
    dingduck, OK found another problem. The Google PLay files and framework I have for ICS are NOT compatible with your ICS version for some reason. So I wont be able to inject Google Play

    If you know of someone that has done this on your tablet and you can get the files, I can try again with that.

    Now in my testing I have found that my boot.img from ROM 1.2 works! The only change I made to boot.img was to remove the kernel and mount system as RW (edited init.rc). Again this works on my ROM and kernel.

    But I need to see if your kernel.img is really good!!!!

    So please do this test.
    1) Take the stock ROM kit and use the boot.img ONLY from my 1.2 ROM kit and replace the stock ROM boot.img. In other words flash the stock ROM but use my 1.2 boot.img.
    2) Flash the entire ROM and erase IDB

    Let me know if this boots. This is super important to see if the actual kernel.img is real or a fake trying to throw us off making a rooted ROM.
    Remember please, it might take up to 5 minutes to boot the first time after a ROM flash!

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  15. #35
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,680
    This is without a doubt the WORST ROM I have ever worked with. It is slow slow slow......
    I have never seen anything like this before. To me it seems like a HACKED together ROM that is just not performing that well.

    Just changing the bootanimation causes first boot after a ROM flash to take nearly 10 minutes to boot! I see now why the stock boot animation is layed out to do ONLY one loop. The FreakTab bootanimation is very simple. Just blinking eyes. BUT doing that slows this sucker WAY DOWN on first boot after a ROM flash to like 10 minutes!!!! WTF?

    Anyway dingduck, I need the kernel test posted above please. I cannot use your kernel to test but I need to know if it is good outside of boot.img.

    Then I will see what I can do to make this ROM better....

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  16. #36
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    16
    Thread Starter
    Okay, I'm flashing it now with stock rom and boot.img v1.2...

    Just wonder, do you need modem.img to be able to make a voice call from tablet? I'm saying this because this tablet can send and receive text messages but cannot make any voice call, so I think it's software related rather than hardware.

    UPDATE: It boot fine after I flash it with stock rom + boot.img v1.2 and it only took around 1-2 minutes

  17. #37
    Administrator Finless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stanton, California
    Posts
    15,680
    OK good. So we know we have a working kernel.img.

    As for voice calls, I do not know. Yes it will be ROM related. Don;t think I can help much here without having this tablet to test more on.

    Stay tuned, I can make a ROM now that works. I think I found some standard AOSP ICS files for the market.

    Bob
    "Przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Прости их, ибо не ведают, что творят"
    "Perdona loro perché non sanno quello che fanno"
    "Vergib ihnen, denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
    "Vergeef hen want ze weten niet wat ze doen"
    "Pardonne-leur car ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font"
    "Perdónalos porque no saben que lo que hacen"
    "Oprosti im, jer ne znaju što čine"
    "Atyám, bocsásd meg nekik, mert nem tudják mit cselekszenek!"
    "Odpusť jim, neboť nevědí, co činí"
    "Πάτερ άφες αυτοίς, ού γάρ οίδασι τί ποιούσι"
    "Ojcze, przebacz im, bo nie wiedzą, co czynią"
    "Forgive them as they know not what they do"


  18. #38
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    1

    Lightbulb

    Hi Finless,

    I also have the Skyworth S7 given by my friend. I've read this thread from the start and I'm interested to know if it possible to inject the CWM into this S7 recovery?

    If you want to test it, I'm ok to be your CWM S7 beta tester..
    I think I can get the stock ROM ICS v4.0.4 for this tablet in next week, so I will upload it when I get it.

    TIA

  19. #39
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    indonesia
    Posts
    1

    HOW to

    hi dingduck,
    Quote Originally Posted by dingduck View Post
    Hi Bob,

    I already extract it using afptool and came up with these files:

    boot.img
    kernel.img
    misc.img
    recovery.img
    system.img
    package-file
    parameter
    recover-script
    rk29xxloader v2.08
    update-script

    Now what should I do to repack it?

    One of my friend accidently bricked his S7 tablet and when he tries flash it with those files using rkandroid tool v1.29 it stucked at boot screen.

    Sure, I can upload it to you using ftp using filezilla


    Thanks

    how to backup ur stock ROM s7?
    may i know ur version or batch number?
    if my s7 is installed many apps and it rooted, can i get an origin stock ROM?
    thank's

  20. #40
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    1
    Hi Finless,
    I'm from Indonesia
    We have those kind of Tablet here too (skyworth S7)
    here's the website:
    Skyworth S7 Smartfren Androtab 7"

    if you like to try on our Stock ROM please give it a try
    Stock ROM Batch2
    it has a working Google Play

    the problems are:
    - it's locked on our local Operator (Smartfren CDMA)
    - Batt Drain is Worst!
    - Batt indicator very Buggy, if the screen turn off on stand by, when you put it back on,
    it show "Batt low, please connect your charger" even when your batt is 100%
    - Speaker sound very low, even when you give maximum volume
    - unrooted

    sorry for my poor english, i hope you understand what i tried to explain
    Last edited by payerbern; 08-21-2012 at 11:58 PM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •