PDA

View Full Version : polaroid pmid701c tablet stuck at polaroid screen when rebooting



guevarragv
04-14-2012, 09:30 PM
polaroid pmid701c tablet stuck at polaroid screen when rebooting

Need help!

Nux
04-14-2012, 10:20 PM
polaroid pmid701c tablet stuck at polaroid screen when rebooting

Need help!


What have you tried other than just shutting it down?

guevarragv
04-15-2012, 06:23 AM
I've tried hitting the reset button on the back.

The last thing I was doing with it wad updating an app on market. It said I had insufficient memory, which I found odd, because u knew I had more than enough memory, so I tried to reset, now I'm stuck.

Nux
04-15-2012, 08:17 AM
I've tried hitting the reset button on the back.

The last thing I was doing with it wad updating an app on market. It said I had insufficient memory, which I found odd, because u knew I had more than enough memory, so I tried to reset, now I'm stuck.

I haven't experienced the tablet locking up but I have done some unusual reboots, is it that the tab won't turn off, or is it off and won't turn on?

When the poop hits the fan there is Polaroid's customer service:
Phone: 1-877-768-8481
Email: polaroidtabletsupport@southerntelecom.com
Website: www.southerntelecom.com (http://www.southerntelecom.com/)


If you want to try to fix it yourself then:
Everything I'm about to describe is AT YOUR OWN RISK:

If it is stuck "powered on" have you tried the reset button on the back panel? (use something like a paper clip to get at it, you may need to hold it down for an extended amount of time )

Also try holding the power button down for an extended time (say 30 plus secs or until there was a response). Could also try holding the reset button and power buttons down at the same time.

If it is stuck "powered on" there is always the last resort, crack open the unit and disconnect the battery supply.

guevarragv
04-15-2012, 08:34 AM
I can turn it off. It just won't go past the Polaroid screen when booting.

Nux
04-15-2012, 08:51 AM
I can turn it off. It just won't go past the Polaroid screen when booting.


You should definitely try customer service.
:DONTKNOW

sabercatpuck
04-15-2012, 10:45 AM
It sounds like something in the boot up sequence got corrupted somehow. The odds are it will need to be reflashed. At this point Polaroid has not released the factory ROM to be reflashed, supposedly sometime within the next couple weeks. There are ROM's from Onda that does seem to work well. They are posted in the sticky's. Now there is no guarantee that it will get back to stock if you reflash with the alternate firmwares but as yet I have not had any problems and I have flashed my unit several times now. The routine used in the flash procedure is built into the microprocessor so it is unlikely to be corrupted.

You are on your own if you try, but there is a video I made showing the procedure. The odds are it will get you back up and running, just look different. Now if you had used the clockwork recovery prior to it locking up you can use that to get it back to near stock, it just takes a few more steps than on a phone that you can boot straight into recovery since we have not found a way to do that yet.

guevarragv
04-15-2012, 11:39 AM
Can you post a link to the video? I'll definitely give it a shot. Hopefully a noob like me can follow it.

guevarragv
04-15-2012, 11:42 AM
Nevermind, I see it.

guevarragv
04-15-2012, 05:01 PM
Dude, that's the bomb. It works great now, this ROM is better than the stock. A little slower, but cool.

sabercatpuck
04-15-2012, 05:46 PM
did you go with the gingerbread or bump it up to ice cteam sandwich? just curious

guevarragv
04-15-2012, 08:36 PM
4.0.3

Something weird just happened. I ran low on battery, so it shut itself down. When I turned it back on, all the apps I downloaded was gone and everything was back in Chinese.

Going to download a few apps and shut down and try again and see if it reverts.

guevarragv
04-15-2012, 08:44 PM
Ok, confirmed. Each time I try shutdown and reset, all settings and apps disappear and everything is back to Chinese and all downloaded apps are gone.

sabercatpuck
04-15-2012, 10:16 PM
my test unit has never done that, and it's current go around has had some unusual testing done on it. it is running the onda ics v1. sounds like it keeps doing a factory reset when it powers off.

ok, just did a test. with it in standby it did do a factory reset when i hit the reset button on the back.

so now it is saying i have no memory available for storage looks like it really didnt like the reset button getting pressed. next up reflash. i am fairly sure all will be well after the flash, but i will have to try and figure this one out

guevarragv
04-16-2012, 04:12 AM
Please let me know if you have a solution.

sabercatpuck
04-16-2012, 08:12 AM
i loaded up the onda gingerbread rom and so far it has not doneca factory reset when i hit the back reset button. havebt loaded anything on yet though. i saw something on other roms where loading busybox can drive them nits so i might try that since i had it loaded on it before the reset

guevarragv
04-16-2012, 10:04 AM
i loaded up the onda gingerbread rom and so far it has not doneca factory reset when i hit the back reset button. havebt loaded anything on yet though. i saw something on other roms where loading busybox can drive them nits so i might try that since i had it loaded on it before the reset

Thanks for looking into this. Maybe I used the wrong ROM. Whichever one you used to get it to work, let me know and I'll give it a shot.

I see you got the "no memory available for storage" message as well. I got that too before I put in the new ROM (which is what seemed to have started the whole problem) and after I put in the ROM.

sabercatpuck
04-16-2012, 11:09 AM
If you were using the ones in the sticky then both of those work fairly well as far as I have seen. The only time I saw mine go a bit crazy was with the reset button using the ICS, though I had really messed around with it before hand so it could have set up a problem that then popped forward when I hit the reset. When I flash back to the ICS I can check it out again too. The Gingerbread 2.0.5 firmware is the top download and the ICS 4.0.3 is the bottom:

http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.php?582-Onda-Firmwares-available-for-the-PMID701C

Personally at this point I think I will ultamitly end up sticking with the Gingerbread it is very responsive, and on the AnTuTu test I did at 1.2GHZ was just under the fastest result posted, and that was for a ICS ROM, I have found they can be real good out of the gate and then bog down a bit when you get them loaded up too. I am still unsure what the trigger is for it doing a factory reset versus a simple reset if you hit the little reset button. Might take some time to get to the bottom of it. Could be if it senses something wrong with the file system.

Finless
04-16-2012, 01:11 PM
Rebooting Android via hardware without lettings it shut down properly can HOSE a rooted system.
Linux could have files open, databases open, etc. A fatory reset does close all this stuff befor the reboot. A hardware reboot does not. Many times you can get by and not cause a problem but you are correct, you can hose the file system.

Bob

sabercatpuck
04-16-2012, 02:30 PM
be sure to just hit the power button and tell it to shut down but telling it to on the display whenever you can, option 2 if that isnt working would be hold the power button for about 20-30 seconds till it shuts off, and only if that fails should you go for the reset button. If all that fails, it's time to dust off live suite again